Find My Device, previously called Device Manager, offers the easiest way to track an Android or iPhone. It’s a free app from Google Play, and you can also access the service from any browser by visiting google.com/android/find should your device become lost. Find My Device offers options to ring, lock or erase your device should it get out of your hands.
Another option, if your phone is switched off, is to check your location history to find its last reported location. You can do this by visiting myaccount.google.com/activitycontrols and tapping on Manage Activity under Location History. You’ll now see a map of all the places in which your device has reported its location during a time period that you specify. The last known location is where Google last saw it before the battery died, and if your luck’s in it may still be there.
Note that location history uses Wi-Fi- and mobile signals rather than GPS, so it won’t be as accurate as Android Device Manager.
How to recover lost iPhone using Find My iPhone (even when it’s dead or not powered on)
Find My iPhone: It can be very devastating to loose a smartphone these days especially for the fact that there are important details you need to put into consideration. As an iPhone user, if your smartphone has become your personal assistant, there certainly is an important information right there that shouldn’t be compromised. So, with all things being equal, it is imperative to find a quick method to enable you recover the phone. Not to worry, I will take you through the basic steps to help you recover your lost phone, whether your battery is dead or alive
In this article, you will discover simple ways/steps on how to rescue your lost iPhone (even when not connected to the internet). You will equally learn other simple methods on how best to remotely clear the device in other to prevent sensitive information from going to the wrong hands.
How to set up ‘Find My iPhone’ in your iPhone 8 and iPhone X
To make it easy to search and recover any misplaced or lost iPhone, there’s an important feature to set up first, which is called Find My iPhone. This can be enabled under Settings app. This feature can make recovering your stolen or lost iPhone pretty easy to locate, even with a dead battery. If Send Last Location is enabled on your smartphone, Apple will get a notification of your phone’s last GPS coordinate. Note that this amazing ‘Find My iPhone’ feature can work successfully if your phone has access to internet connection where it is. If peradventure your battery is dead, or mobile data or Wi-Fi is turned off, you may only be notified of the last known location of the device where it last had access to the internet.
If you want to enable Find My iPhone and Send Last Location, follow these simple productive steps:
- Open the Settings app on your iPhone
- Tap your Apple ID at the top
- Goto iCloud
- Go down and tap Find My iPhone
- Tap on the switch to enable it
- Toggled on Send Last Location
What to do if ‘Find My iPhone’ was not enabled before Phone got Lost?
If you did not enable Find My iPhone before your mobile device got lost, it can still be tracked using Google location history. This also needs to be enabled in your phone first, before being used or becoming useful. If peradventure your location history in your Google Maps app was turned on, you will be able to get a profoundly general idea about the last known location of your phone. The following steps will take you through tracking your phone’s location history.
- In your desktop or mobile, open maps.google.com/locationhistory in your web browser.
- Sign in to your Google account or the one logged into your lost iPhone if you use multiple Google accounts.
- Pick the date that you lost your phone.
- Check out the last known address of your mobile device.
Apart from reporting your stolen device, it is advisable to remotely wipe your phone’s details, especially if you were using it for Apple Pay, or if it contains really important personal information. If you’re wondering how to delete credit card information from Apple Pay, here’s how it’s done:
How To Delete Credit Card Information From Apple Pay
- Go to your computer and open your web browser; go to iCloud.com.
- Sign in to your account (Note: It should be the same iCloud account you’re using in your lost phone.
- Click on the Settings app.
- At the bottom, under the My Devices section, click on the device you’d like to wipe Apple Pay from — you should see an Apple Pay logo next to any device set up with the service.
- Click on Remove All…
- Now, all cards in association with Apple Pay will/can no longer be allowed to make any transactions using that device.
It’s true that you’ll need to use your unique fingerprint to authorize Apple Pay, but it’s highly recommended that all credit card information is totally removed from that device to be safe.
How to find your iPhone Using a Computer
If you don’t have access to another iPhone to use Find My iPhone, then you can use a computer and go to iCloud.com. Follow the steps below:
- Open any web browser.
- Go to iCloud.com and log into your iCloud account. Ensure this is the same iCloud account you’re using in your lost phone.
- Click on Find iPhone in the main menu.
- Enter your Apple ID and password and sign in if prompted
- Click on All Devices at the top.
- Click the device name for the device you’d like to track.
- You can zoom in and out of the map as you desire. In the map page, you’ll also encounter three options — Play sound, Lost mode, and Erase.
Below are the explanations for each of them:
Play sound option allows you to send a command to your iPhone, so it makes a sound to draw attention. It will override whatever sound settings you set in your device. Irrespective of the fact that it’s on vibrate or silent mode, your iPhone will continue to make a sound.
Lost mode option will send a command to your device so it displays a phone number you’ve nominated to be displayed on the screen. If with the right hands, he/she that is with the phone will contact you. Unfortunately, Lost mode will only work in your lost iPhone if it still powers on. If it isn’t, you’ll still be able to access Lost mode in another iPhone or computer, just that it won’t be activated in your lost device. Once it powers back on and connects to the internet, the Lost mode will automatically be activated. Note that Lost mode will activate location services, even if you disable it before the device gets lost.
Erase option is most useful in a situation where finding your iPhone has become almost impossible, and you possibly don’t want anyone to access your information. In this situation, we suggest that you wipe the phone clean by using Erase, to avoid risking sensitive data. This option helps your iPhone to be wiped clean, and all user data that were not uploaded to iTunes or iCloud before, will be gone forever. Even if you eventually find your phone, those data you’ve wiped will be gone forever.
How to find your iPhone using another iPhone or iPad
When using another iPhone or iPad in locating your lost iPhone, you’ll need a mobile app called Find My iPhone app. It’s usually a pre-installed app in any iPhone but if the one you’re using does not have any one installed, you can easily get one for free from the App Store. Once installed, follow these steps:
- Open the Find My iPhone app.
- Log in with your iCloud ID.
- Tap on the name of the device that you’d like to track.
- Tap on Actions at the bottom, just to see your options.
Here, you have access to the same 3 options you have in the web view of iCloud. You can check above to know how it works.